If Money Was No Object, What Would You Do?

“Because if you say that getting the money is the most important thing you will spend your life completely wasting your time! You’ll be doing things you don’t like doing in order to go on living – that is to go on doing things you don’t like doing! Which is stupid!” – Alan Watts (1915-1973)

Link to the Alan Watts lecture will follow this post.

And what if money was no object? What would you guys do?

Today’s world runs off of money, and not just for materialistic aspects such as cell phones or jewelry or television. Money is needed for even the basic needs: food, water, and shelter. As the years go on, even the most basic needs are becoming more expensive, especially depending on where a person is located. It is becoming harder and harder to afford the basic needs, and people are forced into mediocre jobs that they are not only unhappy at, but where they are only making enough to only just make the ends meet. Even the educational system pours it into the heads of students that money is needed to survive, that they must get this job to make x-amount of money to live comfortably.

I am not at all saying that people are forced into jobs that make them unhappy. Most people will go into fields that do make them happy, working as doctors or social workers, or police officers and fire fighters. However, there are some people who are forced to work jobs that do not make them happy, such as a cashier or janitor or a cook – just to make ends meet. Students have dreams of other careers they would love to have, but the educational system sometimes drills into them that money cannot be made in these certain areas, that they will forever struggle due to doing what they want to do and not what they should do to make money.

However, what would you do if money were no object? If money wasn’t the most important aspect of life and wasn’t a problem, what would you do?

I already know what I would do. Now, do not get me wrong – I do love my major, my plan I have for a career. I’m going into Social Work, and obviously it’s not the most highest  paying job in the world, but I’m still excited about the aspect of bringing changes to the community and helping as many people as I can. However, if money wasn’t an object and I wasn’t interested in Social Work, I would probably be a writer, either focusing on blogging or writing short stories just for fun. I love to write. It’s like my outlet, my escape from reality. It keeps me at peace, so that is something I would love to do if money wasn’t an object. I also would maybe travel the world and go to all my favorite places, and keep a journal or blog of it.

Comment and tell me – what would you all do if money was no object?

-Me xo

Alan Watts Lecture; ‘If Money Were No Object’: https://vimeo.com/63961985 If you have about 3 minutes to spare, have a listen. You might like it, and again let me know in the comments 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

