Just A Thought

Hello people of Earth.

Okay, let me begin by apologizing about my lack of blog posts lately. School has started again and between classwork and trying to keep my Wattpad story updated on a regular basis, I’ve been slacking on the blogs a bit. However, from now on I will try and keep the blogs updated a bit more to give everyone an insight as to what’s going on. I was actually planning to blog on Friday this week, but tonight, I just wanted to get a thought off my chest.

So, many people don’t know but I am a Social Work major. This year was supposed to be my senior year of school but due to the social work program, it’s being treated as my junior year (my classification on my student information thing even says ‘Junior’). It’s the first year of the Social Work Program at my school, so lately – since all of the introductions and “ice breaker” activities are out of the way – we’ve been doing a lot of reading. Some of this reading combined with the lectures in class have led to this post today; just something I wanted to share.

As a social worker – which one day will be myself and my classmates – we have to learn to understand everyone’s situation. We have to understand that people are different, and we have to express our understanding and empathy. With this being said, we’ve also been discussing how as social workers, we must not belittle our clients. No matter what our clients are going through or have been experiencing, we are not to belittle them and make them feel like their situations do not matter. We are to be there for them and be their support system, and let them know that they are not alone in this thing called ‘life’.

I’ve said all of that to say this; WHY DO PEOPLE FEEL THE NEED TO BELITTLE ANOTHER PERSON’S SITUATION?! I will not apologize for putting this in all caps; it’s the truth – people do belittle other people’s situations. People are so quick to belittle another person’s situation just because it doesn’t seem like a “big deal” compared to whatever they are going through. My response to that is: nobody ever knows what someone else is go through. What may not seem like a big deal to you might be a big deal to someone else. There’s no need to say to anyone; “Well at least you don’t have to worry about this, that, and the third…” or “Why are you complaining when you have this, that, and the third?” …NO! Again I say, you have no idea what someone is going through. Just because you are going through something big, doesn’t mean your problem triumphs over someone else’s. Everyone handles things differently, so again I want to point out that what may not seem like a big deal to you might be a big deal to someone else. That might be the end of the world for them whether you see it that way or not.

I want people to understand that everyone needs support; whether it be for something small or something big, everyone needs support. Don’t belittle someone just because their version of a “bad situation” or “big deal” is not the same as your version. ONCE AGAIN, I want to point out that EVERYONE DEALS WITH SITUATIONS DIFFERENTLY. So if someone is feeling sad or down, try to be there for them instead of making it out like they have no right to complain simply because their situation doesn’t match the magnitude of your situation. Something so small might really be a big deal to someone, so try and be more understanding and thaw your icy heart out for once will you. If you continue to have this icy heart, you’ll end up pushing people away and do you really want that to happen? Do you really want people to feel like they can’t come to you if they have a situation or there’s something on their mind that they need to express?

But then if you treat people like this, don’t expect them to be there for you. Treat others the way you want to be treated and the world will be a better place.

That’s all for now; thanks!

-Me xo

Leave a Reply

