Friendships

Hey everyone!

I’m back! I’m so sorry I didn’t post on Wednesday guys – I’ve had a pretty busy week if I’m honest; school is hitting me in the face and I’m so over it to be honest. Anyways, I hope everyone has had a good week and a great weekend!

I’m back from my little break from writing, and I thought I’d get this blog out before the week got too busy for me to write. Today’s post is inspired by my epic friendship with some of the best people in the entire world. I won’t be naming, but they know who they are – these epic, wonderful people.

Friendship – it’s important to have. It’s important to maintain relationships with people, to have those friends whom you can vent to if you need to, or have friends that you can have conversations about any and everything. I look at people who have been friends with people for so long – since “diaper days”, and I think that’s so beautiful and magical. Having someone that you’ve grown up with all your life, that probably knows all your secrets about any and everything – that’s a rarity and such a lovely thing to have really.

I’ve got a few friends like that – not to the extent of having them around since I was a baby, but I’ve got friends from elementary school or middle school that I’m still friends with now. Though we may not talk every day, I know that whenever I do contact them or they contact me, we slip into the same roles and act as if no time has passed since we last talked. These are friends that I can trust and that I care about loads; the friends that I know are a few that have had my back since I was a child and will continue to have my back as we go through this crazy journey of adulthood.

Then, I have great couple friends that I met while I was working at Subway. You sort of become a family when you’re working so closely with people; often complaining about the same things together and learning to lean on each other when things get hectic in the workplace. This is how it is for me, anyway, I do have some friends that I met at my job and they’re some of the best people in the world. I don’t have to name names; they know who they are really and I’m quite glad to call them my friends. Some of my co-worker friends were/are some of the most loyal people I’ve met, and I’m glad to have formed a bond with them for life.

The whole other level of friends I have are those I have met through my love for Cheryl (English singer/songwriter; also, a dimpled diamond). I’ve met so many wonderful people through Cheryl’s music; many lovely fans who share that same love and respect for Cheryl whom have since become my friends over the years. Most recently, I’ve had the pleasure of connecting with quite a few obviously, but there’s about ten of those fans whom have become my friends that I class as the best ones; five of them being my fam, my clique I’ll say. They’re absolutely wonderful people who have never once changed; whom have always been some of the nicest people in the world and I don’t take that for granted. I never take for granted the wonderful people I’ve become friends with; it’s a blessing.

It can be hard for people to make friends. I can be a bit shy sometimes so it may sometimes take a bit for me to make friends with people, but once I get comfortable, I’ll talk to someone all day long and be their friend by the end of the day – that’s pretty much what’s happened at my internship. Anyways moving on; sometimes it can be hard for people to make friends due to previous issues. Maybe they’ve had a group of friends who have turned their backs on them, or a group of friends who promised they would always be there yet left them out in the cold and left them feeling lost and alone. Things happen in people’s lives and cause them to question the intentions of the people they meet throughout the rest of their lives, and that can involve having “trust issues” against people and wondering if you can be their friend. It’s a sad reality really that people become so scarred from what others have done to them that they have to resort to having their guard up, but it’s the reality of the world we live in. Sometimes people can be so awful and not have people’s best intentions at heart, or can be awful and drop a friend out in the cold just out of pure jealousy. It’s sad, but it’s reality.

I’ve been in a previous situation where I had a great group of friends, people I classed as family almost as I thought things would last forever. Well, a summer night changed that completely – I still remember I was at work to be honest when it happened, and another friend alerted me to what was going on. I was hurt – I won’t lie here and say it didn’t bother me because it did even if I tried to act like it didn’t bother me. However, I got over it after a few days and took it as maybe being a sign; maybe God (or whatever you believe in – higher being, spiritual power, etc.) saw that these people in my life could not go along with me on the path that he had laid out for me. I don’t wish those group of people any harm and I hope they do not get offended by what I’m saying here if they do read it, but sometimes, things happen and God will remove those rose-colored glasses from us so we can see clearly and understand that some people aren’t meant to go along with us on the path he has laid out for us. It may hurt, but it’s for the best – and believe me when I say this; IT REALLY IS FOR THE BEST.

I wish those former friends all the best as everyone deserves happiness, and if I see them I’ll speak or whatever, but I’m not going out of the way to say hello or carry on a major conversation. Not happening, bro.

Anyways what I’m saying here is, I’ve been fortunate to experience some incredible highs and the lowest of lows when it comes to friends over the years; I guess a bit like a rollercoaster. Now, I’m fortunate enough to have some of the greatest friends in the world. They know who they are, they know they’ve done everything they can to lift me up and help me to grow into the greatest person I can be. I’ve always got their backs just like they’ve always got mine.

To my lovely friends – I love you all so very much. You’re all such wonderful, unique people who bring something different to my life and I love that. Thank you for everything you’ve ever done for me, and guys, we will always be the greatest teams that the world has ever seen!

-Me xo

Leave a Reply

