Supporting #LGBT Community

Hi everyone!

I hope everyone’s had a great week! It’s been a long week over here and I’m quite tired, but I had to get a blog post going. This week’s post will be something I haven’t written about before – this is about my support for the LGBT community.

We live in a world driven by judgements. People are judged for everything – for what they wear, what they do, what they believe in; literally everything. People don’t seem to understand that the Earth is made up of a variety of people all melting together so our planet can function. We are all human, we are all part of God’s great big family, regardless of what happens in our lives. Allow me to dive further into this and explain why I’ve written this post today.

This has been building for a while; I read a lot of things on the internet. For example, my favorite YouTubers, Domo and Crissy (look them up if you aren’t sure who they are), have been judged a lot due to being a lesbian couple. While Domo was pregnant, it seemed that with every picture that came about, people commented about the fact that she was pregnant even though she dressed like a boy – as if the way she dressed knocked out the fact that she was actually a female and had the reproductive system of a female.

Then today (or yesterday), someone commented on a picture of them and their baby on Facebook saying that their son “would be gay” because of them – another ignorant comment.

Then, I can’t begin to even get into how many posts I’ve read about people being disowned by family due to sexual orientation. I honestly think that’s quite possibly one of the worst things a person can do. People feel like they fail as a parent if their child is gay; no darling – you failed as a parent when you cast your child aside due to them being gay.

I think back to the Kim Burrell situation a few months ago; with the comments towards the LGBT community – which were a bit out of order in my opinion; maybe she’s a nice lady but I think her comments were a bit – yeah. I think I addressed her situation in a previous post; I’ll link that in at the end of this post.

My mind wanders to the hate crimes towards the LGBT community that have plagued this country; the worst and most raw event in my mind being the Pulse Nightclub shooting.

And the Brandon Teena incident (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brandon_Teena)

And the Matthew Shepard incident (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Matthew_Shepard)

And numerous other hate crimes targeting the LGBT community.

Imagine being so horrible that you have to take someone’s life because they aren’t what YOU consider “normal”?

Imagine kicking your child to the curb because they aren’t what you consider “normal”?

Imagine being judgmental and making ignorant comments because a gay/lesbian couple have a baby?

 Imagine being so judgmental and making ignorant comments because two people of the same sex have fallen in love or because someone wants to transition to the opposite sex?

NOPE – I CAN’T RELATE.

Honestly, I don’t understand people. There’s no need to condemn a person simply because you do not agree with whom they fall in love with – whether they fall in love with a person of the same sex or not. It has nothing to do with you or anyone else. Sometimes people fall in love with people of the same sex and that’s okay. Love is love; love has no gender or no color – love is just, LOVE.

So, there’s no need to be calling people of the LGBT community “disgusting”. Guys, come on. The hating – it SHOULD BE dead.

If a boy loves another boy…OKAY!

If a girl loves another girl…OKAY!

If a boy loves both boys and girls…OKAY!

If a girl loves both girls and boys…OKAY!

If a person wants to transition into the opposite sex…OKAY!

IT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH YOU!!

As I’m writing this, I think this post has also stemmed from the fact that I watched the film, Boys Don’t Cry, the other week for class. (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boys_Don%27t_Cry_(film) I feel that we as people have come far since the times of that film, but at the same time, we still have SO MUCH more work to do, so much more advocacy to do. At the end of the day, we are all humans whether we love of the same sex or not. There’s no need to be judgmental or rude to someone because they don’t fit what YOU describe as normal. Let me tell you something – everyone is normal; we are all different, and being different makes us normal. Like I stated above, we are all part of God’s family and he loves each and every one of us, so we need to learn to love each other. No more judgmental behavior. No more calling people disgusting.

We are all humans; and I feel that as humans, we should stand together with the LGBT community and help advocate for said community to be treated as equal.

And hey, if you don’t want to then that’s fine, whatever.

I STAND WITH THE LGBT COMMUNITY.

Oh yeah – and here’s that post where I spoke about the Kim Burrell situation: https://iamaliciarenee.wordpress.com/2017/01/05/thoughts-once-again/#more-274

-Me xo

Leave a Reply

