What Makes Me Nervous

Hello everyone!

I was meant to blog on Sunday but truthfully, I forgot – and I had homework to do. It’s the end of the semester guys which means that a million and one deadlines are happening, and they all just happen to be at the same time. Okay – that’s a slight exaggeration, but I do have a lot of work going on so the blogs may not come up exactly when they’re supposed to. I’ll still get them done, and with the summer coming, I’ll definitely get more blogs out and on time.

Right, so today’s topic will be about what makes me nervous – so let’s get into it.

Everyone has something that makes them nervous, don’t they? Whether it be meeting new people, starting a new task or new job, standing in front of people, going certain places – everyone has something that makes them nervous. I get nervous still and really, it’s mainly when I’m starting something new. For example, when I first started my internship at the beginning of the semester, I was quite nervous about such. It was a brand new experience for me; I was going from being in the safety of the classroom where I was learning and with familiar people, to being out in the “field” a few times a week, working with members of the community – staff and clients alike. That was quite nerve-wracking if I’m honest; I was nervous about meeting new people obviously, but I think I was more nervous about actually working with the clients and not messing something up which in turn might mess their day up.

Thankfully, nothing has gone wrong all semester – it’s been great. I’m now used to everything about my internship, and I’m actually sad that tomorrow is my last day. I will miss the wonderful staff and volunteers, and the clients.

Anyways, moving on…

But yeah, starting something new does make me nervous. I’m starting at a new internship in the fall with the department of social services, and while I am trying to act all cool and calm and collected about things, I am a bit nervous about starting that. It’s a brand new experience with brand new people, and I’ll be assigned a client and all sorts – so yeah, I’m quite nervous. I’m sure I’ll be fine once I get into the swing of things, but I am nervous.

So, we’ve established that starting new things makes me a bit nervous. Well, talking in front of people makes me feel nervous too.

I don’t like talking in front of people. I never really have liked speaking in front of people actually; I just don’t fancy it – it’s not my cup of tea. I’m just a naturally quiet, soft spoken person when I’m around people I don’t really know; apart from family and friends really. Whenever I have to speak in front of my class, I can sometimes feel my heart hammering away in my chest and can feel my hands shaking because I am nervous. However, I just project it as if I’m not nervous at all. I dig down deep and find the courage and find my voice, and I somehow manage to cope with the pressures of a solo presentation. It’s safe to say that even though I do get nervous when I have to talk in front of people, I can admit that when I have to present with a group, it definitely takes the pressure off.

I forgot to add in above – but not just starting the internship made me nervous, but sometimes meeting new people can make me nervous as well. I won’t lie; when I first started University, it was nerve-wracking to suddenly be in this new environment with new people, when all my life, I had been on the Eastern Shore and gone to school with people I knew, went to community college with people I knew. To have everything suddenly change was very scary and I was nervous when I first started, but I tried to swallow my nerves and act like I wasn’t nervous at all. The first night was a bit nerve-wracking and I remember I didn’t sleep as much because I was suddenly in a new place. However, after a day or so, I got into the swing of things and suddenly felt so much better.

I think it’s healthy to be a bit nervous – maybe anyway. It shows how eager you are for things to go well and to not be a failure. In a way, I suppose being nervous shows that you care about whatever new task you’re about to start, or being nervous shows you’re excited about the new people you’re going to meet and you hope they become friends. Even though sometimes the other feelings that come along with being nervous can be a pain, it does at least show that you do care and want things to succeed. It’s better than not caring at all, I guess.

Anyways, those were just a few things that make me nervous. I hope you all enjoyed reading that!

That is all!

-Me xo

Leave a Reply

